Thursday, 6 December 2012

NEC delists 28 political parties

ABUJA—Few days after it sent a proposal to the senate seeking autonomy to ban electoral offenders for 10 years, Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, yesterday, de-registered 28 political parties over what sources said, was as a result of their poor performances in the last general elections.
Top on the list were Rev. Chris Okotie’s Fresh Democratic Party; Balarabe Musa-led PRP; Tunji Braithwaite’s NAP, UNPP, ALP and 23 others
Vanguard gathered that apart from poor performances, the affected political parties were operating without offices in 36 states of the federation.
Others are said to have been affected in the exercise because they have been operating without office accommodation, political structure and short fall of operational staff.
When contacted, the Press Secretary to the INEC Chairman, Mr Kayode Idowu confirmed the story.

No comments:

Post a comment